Earth Hour - Saturday 28 March 2020

EU institutions and bodies, including the Translation Centre, will be taking part in Earth Hour 2020; how about you?

On Saturday 28 March, between 20.30 and 21.30, 34 European institutions and bodies (6 more than in 2019) will symbolically switch off the lights on the facades of their main buildings (barring any security and legal compliance restrictions) for 60 minutes. Earth Hour, a WWF initiative, is now one of the world's largest grassroots movements for the environment, this year celebrating its 13th anniversary (see video).
In view of the ongoing health crisis as a result of the COVID-19 (coronavirus) outbreak, the Earth Hour global organising team is recommending that all participants celebrate Earth Hour purely digitally this year.  There are still many ways to take part online or at home and show your support for the planet on and around the hour.
To find out what the EU administration is doing to protect the environment, check out this EMAS (Environmental Management System) in EU institutions webpage on Europa,  including EU institutions’ EMAS stories and best practices.


List of participating EU Institutions and bodies: the European Commission (EC), the European Parliament (EP), the Council's General Secretariat (GSC), the European Committee of the Regions (CoR), the European Economic and Social Committee (EESC), the Court of Justice of the European Union (CDJ), the European External Action Service (in Brussels), the European Investment Bank (EIB) and the European Investment Fund (EIF), the European Central Bank (ECB), the European Ombudsman (EO), the European Court of Auditors (ECA), the European Medicines Agency (EMA), the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA), the European Union Aviation Safety Agency (EASA), the European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO), the Translation Centre for the Bodies of the European Union (CDT), the European Training Foundation (ETF), the European Maritime Safety Agency (EMSA), the European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction (EMCDDA), the Executive Agency for Small and Medium-sized Enterprises (EASME), the European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA), the European Union Agency for Law Enforcement Training (CEPOL), the European Chemicals Agency (ECHA), the Electronic Components and Systems for European Leadership Joint Undertaking (ECSEL-JU), the European Union Agency for the Operational Management of Large-Scale IT Systems in the Area of Freedom, Security and Justice (eu-LISA), the Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators (ACER), the European Agency for Safety and Health at Work (EU-OSHA), the European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights (FRA), the European Fisheries Control Agency (EFCA), the European Joint Undertaking for ITER and the Development of Fusion Energy (F4E), the European Centre for the Development of Vocational Training (CEDEFOP), the European Banking Authority (EBA), the Community Plant Variety Office (CPVO) and the Single European Sky ATM Research Joint Undertaking (SESAR-JU).